Brand

Free Consultation – Available 24/7 212-571-7171

En Español
a~|icon_menu~|elegant-themes~|outline
Menu
Free Consultation – Available 24/7

DURING THIS HEALTH CRISIS, OUR OFFICE IS FULLY STAFFED AND FULLY OPERATIONAL AND YOU CAN REACH US BY PHONE OR EMAIL 24 HOURS A DAY.

Free Consultation – Available 24/7
See Our Google Reviews
Can I Switch My Lawyer?
En Español
a~|icon_menu~|elegant-themes~|outline
Menu
Close Menu X

How Can We Help?

More Than $650 Million Recovered For Our Clients
  1. You Are Here: Home
  2.  » 
  3. Sexual Assault
  4.  » Survivors of child sexual assault earn major victory

Survivors of child sexual assault earn major victory

On Behalf of | Feb 14, 2019 | Sexual Assault

Legislation extends statute of limitations on sexual abuse

After a long and bitter battle for legislation that would allow New York sex abuse victims to sue the Roman Catholic Church and other organizations for monetary damages, the New York State Legislature unanimously passed the Child Victims Act on Jan. 28, 2019. Governor Cuomo signed the bill into law on Feb. 14, 2019, extending the statute of limitations for victims of sexual abuse.

The Act allows child victims to seek prosecution against their abuser until the age of 55 in civil cases, a significant increase from the previous limit of age 23.

Law expands civil and criminal justice for sexual abuse victims

The Child Victim Act also includes a “look-back window.” Adult survivors of any age, who had been previously prohibited by the statute of limitations, can sue within the next 365 days

Many victims never disclose their abuse. According to statistics from Child USA, the average age of disclosure by victims who were sexually abused as children is age 52, due to prolonged or delayed trauma.

Child USA’s Marci Hamilton said that extending the statute of limitation for civil litigation will help expand the public knowledge of how widespread child sexual abuse is. She said it is often during civil cases that experts learn about how patterns of abuse operate.

On the criminal side, the bill will give law enforcement more time to file charges against abusers, with victims able to seek felony criminal charges until their 28th birthday, and misdemeanor charges until their 25th birthday.

I About

Archives

Let Us Help You Today

Request A Free Case Review

Get Help Now

$5 Million

Dram Shop
Liability

$1.5 Million

Construction
Accident

$11 Million

Pedestrian
Accident

$3.2 Million

Legal
Malpractice

$5.35 Million

Rear End
Collision

$1.5 Million

Construction
Accident

$9 Million

Traumatic
Brain Injury

$4.8 Million

For Roadway
Accident Victim

7~|arrow_carrot-2down~|elegant-themes~|outline

Our Awards and Accolades